Welcome :: Glossary :: About / Contact us :: Thanks / Credits :: Website plan

PART 1 - 1.1 - Genesis of the analytical model :: 1.2 - Description of the analytical model :: 1.3 - A practice of analysis in the tonal harmonic discourse from Bach to Wagner :: 1.4 - By way of a general conclusion


1.3 - A practice of analysis in the tonal harmonic discourse from Bach to Wagner ||
A) FORMULAS - 1. Definition of a formula :: 2. Presentation of the little catalogue of harmonic vocabulary :: 3. User's guide to the little catalogue and various instructions :: 4. Examples illustrating the little catalogue (motifs: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6a, 6b, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, motifs in combination)
B) SEQUENCES - 1. Definition of a harmonic sequence :: 2. Classifying sequences :: 3. Melodic formulations: characteristic motifs :: 4. The tonal nature of the harmonic sequence :: 5.The tripartite structure of the harmonic sequence :: 6. A modulating sequence or not? :: 7. Diversification of harmonic content :: 8. The harmonic sequence as a place of subversion :: 9. Conclusion

2. CLASSIFYING SEQUENCES

Now that the harmonic sequence has been defined, how do we classify its various manifestations?

Let us never allow it to slip from our minds that for all practical purposes, the harmonic discourse is born of a single pair of harmonic functions which permeates the entire system and which provides both the engine and the goal: the dominant-tonic pair (V - I). It is essentially from this perspective that we undertake the task of classification. All harmonic sequences will therefore be perceived as the product of imitation of the couple V - I which serves as an object of reference without necessarily appearing within the sequence itself.

 

The imitation may refer to this pair:

- in the conventional sense (V - I):

Figure 17

regardless of the melodic motion (ascending fourth or descending fifth);

- in retrograde (I - V):

Figure 18

Note that a plagal perspective can be substituted for the tonal perspective (see, among others, examples 374 and 454). We know already that the tonal harmonic discourse includes many plagal gestures.

- or in a combination of both directions (I - V - I):

Figure 19

This restriction excludes from our system of classification not only sequences that present more than three chords in the model, but also those in which the model (of two or three chords) does not correspond to the referential pair. Another category thereby presents itself. These other sequences, used much less frequently, draw on the same stereotypical fragments of discourse (prefabricated harmonic material) which we have already designated as formulas. In these cases, therefore, the model of the sequence corresponds to one or another of those formulas, for example:

Example 384 : J.S. Bach : Little Preludes and Fugues, Fugue no 8 (mm 22-24)


Example 385 : D. Scarlatti : Sonata no 15, K. 175 (mm 61-63)




 

Example 386 : J.S. Bach : The Well-Tempered Clavier, vol. I, Prelude no 10, BWV 855 (mm 9-15)


Example 387 : W.A. Mozart : Fantasy, K. 475 (mm 128-131)




Example 388 : L.V. Beethoven : String quartet, op. 18, no 6, IV, La Malinconia (mm 21-29)


Example 389 : J.S. Bach : Sonata for flute and keyboard, BWV 1032, III, Allegro (mm 124-136)


 

Example 390 : W.A. Mozart : Symphony no 40, K. 550, IV (mm 157-177)
Type 1 sequence preceding the formula IV - V - I = IV




The model can even include several formulas combined:

Example 391 : W.A. Mozart : Viennese Sonatina no 2, I (mm 12-19)


Note here that the reproduction, instead of repeating the three formulas in the model, combines the last two into a single group (which corresponds to a type 1 sequence, as we will see later).

Excluding these cases, the proposed system of classification regroups, if not all, at least most of the other sequences that appear in the discourse from Bach to Wagner. Three criteria of classification permit the identification of 12 distinct types:

1. The (real) bass motion in the model.
Here we must remember that at least seven distinct chord structures (as shown below) can fill the role of the dominant within the pair V - I:


Figure 20

2. The nature of the interval of progression of the harmonic model (a second or a third)

3. The direction of the interval of progression of the harmonic model (ascending or descending sequence)

Thus the twelve types of sequences are distributed according to the following table:

 

Figure 21




It is important to note from the outset that the classification of a sequence as descending (sequences nos 1-6) or as ascending (sequences nos 7 to 12) implies a process of abstraction that links classification to the succession of roots (such as: C-F-B-E-A-D-G-C = descending sequence) in such a way that the ascending or descending melodic orientation of the discourse itself, in one or all of its components - due, for example, to a shift in octave, - may seem to contradict the classification:

Example 392 : J.S. Bach : Partita no 6, BWV 830, toccata (mm 99-101)
Type 1 sequence




Example 393 : L.V. Beethoven : Piano Sonata, op. 10, no 1 (mm 32-44)
Type 2 sequence


Example 394 : F. Schubert : Symphony no 9, D. 944, II, Andante con moto (mm 145-152)
Type 4 sequence


3. MELODIC FORMULATIONS: CHARACTERISTIC MOTIFS

Accueil :: Lexique :: À propos/nous contacter :: Remerciements/crédits :: Plan du site

Première partie: le discours non modulant :: Deuxième partie: les accords à fonction ornementale et le discours modulant

PREMIÈRE PARTIE - 1.1 - La genèse du modèle d'analyse :: 1.2 - La description du modèle d'analyse :: 1.3 - Une pratique d'analyse du discours harmonique tonal de Bach à Wagner :: 1.4 - En guise de conclusion générale

 


1.3 - Une pratique d'analyse du discours harmonique tonal de Bach à Wagner||
A) DES FORMULES - 1. Définition de la formule :: 2. Présentation du petit catalogue du vocabulaire harmonique tonal :: 3. Mode d'emploi du petit catalogue et instructions diverses :: 4. Illustrations du petit catalogue (motifs: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6a, 6b, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, combinaisons de motifs)
B) DES MARCHES - 1. Définition de la marche :: 2. Classification des marches :: 3. Formulation mélodique: les motifs caractéristiques ::
4. L'être tonal de la marche d'harmonie :: 5. Structure tripartite :: 6. Marche modulante ou non? :: 7. Diversification des contenus harmoniques :: 8. La marche d'harmonie comme lieu de subversion :: 9. Conclusion

2. CLASSIFICATION DES MARCHES

Une fois la marche définie, comment la classer?

Rappelons et ne cessons de rappeler que le discours harmonique tonal relève, à toutes fins pratiques, d'un couple qui transcende tout le système et qui en est à la fois le moteur et la fin: le couple dominante-tonique (V - I). C'est essentiellement dans cette perspective que se situe notre entreprise de classification. Toute marche d'harmonie va donc être perçue comme le produit d'une imitation du couple V - I pris comme objet de référence mais n'apparaissant pas nécessairement à l'intérieur de la marche.

L'imitation renvoie à ce couple,

- soit en sens droit (V - I):

Figure 17

quel que soit par ailleurs le mouvement mélodique (geste de quarte ascendante ou de quinte descendante);

- soit en sens rétrograde (I - V):

Figure 18

Notons ici qu'une perspective plagale peut alors se substituer à la perspective tonale (voir, entre autres, les exemples 374 et 454). On sait que le discours harmonique tonal intègre plusieurs gestes plagaux.

- soit en combinaison de ces deux sens (I - V - I):

Figure 19

Cette contrainte écarte de la classification non seulement les marches présentant plus de trois accords dans le modèle, mais également celles dont le modèle (à deux ou trois accords) ne correspond pas au couple de référence. Un autre clivage apparaît ainsi. En effet, ces marches, de loin les moins fréquentes, s'alimentent à même des fragments de discours stéréotypé (matériel harmonique préfabriqué) que nous avons déjà désignés comme étant des formules. Le modèle de la marche correspond alors à l'une ou l'autre de ces formules, par exemple:

Exemple 384 : J.S. Bach : Petits préludes et fugues, fugue no 8 (mes. 22-24)


Exemple 385 : D. Scarlatti : Sonate no 15, K. 175, (mes 61-63)




 

Exemple 386 : J.S. Bach : Le clavier bien tempéré, vol. I, prélude no 10, BWV 855 (mes 9-15)


Exemple 387 : W.A. Mozart : Phantaisie, K. 475 (mes 128-131)




Exemple 388 : L.V. Beethoven : Quatuor à cordes, op. 18, no 6, IV, La Malinconia (mes 21-29)


Exemple 389 : J.S. Bach : Sonate pour flûte et clavier, BWV 1032, III, Allegro (mes 124-136)


 

Exemple 390 : W.A. Mozart : Symphonie no 40, K. 550, IV (mes 157-177)
Marche de type no 1 précédant la formule IV - V - I = IV




Le modèle peut même être constitué de plusieurs formules:

Exemple 391 : W.A. Mozart : Sonatine viennoise no 2, I (mes 12-19)


Noter ici que la reproduction, au lieu de répéter les trois formules du modèle, réunit les deux dernières en un seul ensemble (qui correspond à une marche de type no 1, comme on le verra plus loin).

À l'exclusion de ces cas, la classification proposée regroupe, sinon toutes, du moins la plupart des autres marches qui apparaissent dans le discours de Bach à Wagner. Trois critères de classification permettent d'en dégager 12 différents types:

1. Le jeu des fondamentales (réelles) dans le modèle.
Il faut rappeler ici que l'on admet, dans le rôle de dominante à l'intérieur du couple V-I (principal ou secondaire), au moins sept structures d'accords que voici:


Figure 20

2. La nature de l'intervalle de progression du modèle harmonique (seconde ou tierce).

3. La direction de l'intervalle de progression du modèle harmonique (marche descendante ou ascendante).

Les douze types de marche se répartissent alors selon le tableau suivant:

Figure 21




Il importe de signaler immédiatement que la classification d'une marche comme descendante (marches nos 1 à 6) ou comme ascendante (marches nos 7 à 12) relève d'un procédé d'abstraction qui lie le classement à la séquence des fondamentales (ainsi: do-fa-si-mi-la-ré-sol-do = marche descendante), de sorte que l'orientation mélodique descendante ou ascendante du discours lui-même, dans l'une de ses composantes ou dans toutes - à cause, par exemple, d'un geste d'octaviation - peut sembler en contradiction avec le classement:

Exemple 392 : J.S. Bach : Partita no 6, BWV 830, toccate (mes 99-101)
Marche de type no 1




Exemple 393 : L.V. Beethoven : Sonate pour piano, op. 10, no 1 (mes 32-44)
Marche de type no 2


Exemple 394 : F. Schubert : Symphonie no 9, D. 944, II, Andante con moto (mes 145-152)
Marche de type no 4


3. FORMULATION MÉLODIQUE: LES MOTIFS CARACTÉRISTIQUES